Richard Rizzo, Photographer and Digital Artist, Interview


When and how did you become interested photography? How long have been a photographer?

I became interested in photography when I was about 10 years old but I never got around to buying a camera until after high school in the late 1970’s and basically taught myself more so by trial and error and being it was the days of film it got rather expensive. My first camera that I still own to this day is a Pentax K 1000 that I purchased new in 1978, I have also purchased a digital format Nikon a few years ago but rarely use.

Is anyone else in your family a photographer? No.

What else do you besides take photos? I spend most of my time now creating digital art which actually has taken me to a whole new level of creativity, I constantly experiment with different techniques and art styles using different computer software.

What are some of the things that influence your work? My love of trains and abandoned buildings from a very early age for one, but also mountain hiking in my younger days which made me appreciate the beautiful landscapes in many parts of the country.

What are some of the things that make your photography different then other artists? I think mostly my subject matter such as old abandoned buildings and objects also the use of film from years ago including 35mm infrared which was discontinues a few years back. I have spent many hours restoring a lot of my older photographs digitally with Photoshop over the past few years and still work on many others as time permits me.

Has your photography been featured in magazines and other sites on the Internet? Yes, just a couple of small features or interviews on a few other websites over the past few years.

I want to thank you Richard for stopping by today and giving us the word on what influences your art.

I will also be featuring some of Richard’s digital art pieces coming soon!

This entry was posted in Digital Artists, Interviews with Talented Artists, Talented Digital Artists, Talented Photographers and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

